Uncover our community's unique history by stepping back in time and into some of the areas most fascinating buildings.

This is new! Esdras Parent House - Doors Open Site, 2014

Esdras Parent House

« view all sites

Year Constructed: c. 1852
Built by: Esdras Parent

Open: September 27, 28
10a.m.- 4 p.m.
Street Parking
Not Handicapped Accessible

One of the few remaining French farmsteads in the Windsor area, the Esdras Parent House was built by Esdras, himself, the son of Laurent Parent who was the first settler on the property around 1800. It was moved from its original location at the river front around 1913 when the Parent Farm was subdivided for urban development. The Parent Family and descendants remained owners of the house until 1959.

The one and a half storey wood frame house is largely in original condition. The northerly section [c. 1852] predates the southerly ell [c. 1890]. Of note architecturally are the hand-hewn beams, 15 inch floor planks, handmade nails, 4/4 original windows, clapboard construction [now vinyl sided] and the beaded tongue and groove pine floor in the dining room. In its day, the original roof material would have been cedar shingles.

Location: 827 Esdras Avenue

Click on thumbnail for full image.

Click here to follow us on Facebook

sponsors

  • Curry Repro Graphics
  • Doors Open Ontario
  • Graphix Plus
  • Loreleis Bistro
  • The Windsor Star
  • Motor City Community Credit Union
  • City of Windsor
  • St. Clair Society of Architects
  • Ontario Heritage Trust